Community nominations now open, new categories added – GeekWire

Community nominations now open, new categories added – GeekWire

Community nominations now open, new categories added – GeekWire

We’re gearing up to celebrate the very best of the Pacific Northwest innovation community with the return of the GeekWire Awards, presented by Wave Business. And while we unfortunately can’t meet in person this year, we’ve got some fun in store for the virtual festivities on May 20.

But before we choose the winners across more than a dozen categories, we need your help. Community nominations open today, and run through April 2.

To nominate a company, person or organization, simply go here to fill out the survey. Companies and individuals are encouraged to nominate themselves, but please remember that one nomination is as good as 20. (In other words, no need to flood the ballot box at this juncture).

We’ll take nominations in the categories through April 2, with companies, individuals and organizations in Oregon, Washington and British Columbia eligible as worthy candidates. From the nominee list, we’ll work with our illustrious judging panel to winnow our list to five finalists in each category. We’ll then open the categories up to public voting, and then announce the winners in a live broadcast on May 20.

Now in its 13th year, the GeekWire Awards recognize excellence in business, technology, design, leadership, community engagement and much more. Past winners include companies such as Smartsheet, Auth0, Redfin, Tableau; technology leaders such as Jessie Woolley-Wilson of DreamBox Learning, Matt Oppenheimer of Remitly and Leen Kawas of Athira Pharma; and community organizations such as TAF, PATH and WTIA.

Many of our tried and true categories return this year, including:

  • Startup of the Year, presented by WestRiver Group
  • Deal of the Year, M&A/IPOs/SPACs and Venture Fundings, presented by Wilson Sonsini
  • Next Tech Titan
  • Health Innovation of the Year, presented by Premera
  • Big Tech CEO of the Year, presented by EY
  • Young Entrepreneur of the Year, presented by First Tech Federal Credit Union
  • UX Design of the Year, presented by Blink UX
  • Innovation of the Year, presented by Wave
  • And the Geeks Give Back award, which recognizes amazing community contributions and is presented by BECU

But we also are excited to unveil two new categories:

  • Workplace of the Year, presented by JLL. This year’s winner will display the attributes of an exceptional workplace environment, represented by an unmatched company culture, a dedication to diversity, equity and inclusion and employees whose happiness levels radiate no matter where they are located.
  • STEM Educator of the Year, presented by DreamBox. Our next generation of technologists, entrepreneurs and scientists will help solve some of the planet’s most pressing problems. To help set them on the right course, this new award recognizes educators in the Pacific Northwest who are inspiring young minds to achieve more in the areas of science, technology, engineering and math.

Once again, a huge thanks to our longtime presenting sponsor of the awards: Wave Business.

Also, thanks to our category sponsors: Wilson Sonsini, Premera, BECU, ALLtech, JLL, DreamBox Learning, EY, Blink UX, WestRiver Group and First Tech Federal Credit Union. Also, thanks to silver sponsors: BCRA and Kingston Marketing Group.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.